2019 MTN FAZ Awards date set, top 3 footballers named

12 July 2019

Lusaka – The 2019 MTN FAZ Transitional League reaches its climax on July 31, 2019 at a Gala Awards event in Lusaka.

At a press briefing at Football House today, the MTN/FAZ Awards Committee chairperson Rix Mweemba announced that the award’s date had been set and public voting for the Footballer of the Year had started.

Mr Mweemba, who is Football Association of Zambia Vice President, announced this year’s categories as Footballer of the Year, Coach of The Year, Top Scorer of the Year, Most Disciplined of the Year, Young Player of the Year, Best and Best Assistant Referee, Best XI and the FAZ President’s Award.

The Awards committee received nominations from the 20 clubs that participated in the 2019 FAZ/MTN Transitional League.

MTN/FAZ Awards Committee member Matimba Nkonje explained that criteria for nominations for each category and advised that the Young Player of the Year covered players aged under 23 years of age – who had been active during the transitional league.

Nominations were submitted from the coach and captain of the clubs and they were tasked to look at discipline, games featured in and contributions to the team during the season.

The gala dinner event promises to showcase the best of Zambia’s Super Division and award outstanding contributions to the 2019 FAZ MTN Transitional League.

With the successful implementation of the transitional league, the Zambian football calendar is now aligned to the CAF and FIFA calendar to run from August to May.

MTN Zambia, as the league sponsor, have invested US$1.5 million in Zambia’s Super Division in the past season.

MTN Zambia Events Manager Mwamba Chasaya Siame announced the three top nominees for the 2019 MTN FAZ Transitional League Footballer of the Year award, namely Austin Muwowo, Bruce Musakanya and Lazarous Kambole.

“As MTN Zambia, we pledge our continued support to the development of Football in the country by providing financial and material support. We are eager to play our part to ensure that Zambia’s Number One Sport continues to grow to greater heights both on the local and international scene,” she said.

“As Zambia’s leading network, it gives us great pride to be associated with such an exciting, professional and high caliber football league. Allow me to congratulate the FAZ President, Mr. Andrew Kamanga and his administration for working hard to ensure that Football in Zambia continues to thrive and develop by initiating various positive policies and putting in place the right structures for administration of Football in Zambia,” Mrs Siame said.

Multichoice Corporate Affairs Manager Mwiika Malindima says that as a long-standing partner, they remain committed to supporting Zambian football.

“Multichoice Zambia, through the sister company SuperSport has been a consistent partner in bringing the MTN Super League matches into the living rooms of football loving Zambians.The MTN FAZ League has contributed immensely to the development of sport in the country.

In line with our mission to deliver value to our customers by making great entertainment more accessible, we have always been delighted to avail matches and highlights to DSTV and GOTv customers in Zambia and neighbouring Southern African countries.” He said.

“Multichoice Zambia through SuperSport has forged long-term partnerships with the Football Association of Zambia to contribute to the growth of local talent and the economic value of sports discipline in Zambia.

“In its capacity as the continent’s leading funder of sport and local production, SuperSport has built skills and capacity to become the backbone of content that matters to Zambians.

“As such, many talented Zambian footballers have been discovered on and off screen through Super Sport. Multichoice is delighted to be a part of this exciting part of our customer’s lives and pledge continued support to the football industry,” Mr Malindima said.

MTN has opened voting for the Footballer of the Year. Subscribers can make their selection by dialing *333# and selecting either 1 for Austin Muwowo OR 2 for Bruce Musakanya OR 3 for Lazarous Kambole.

Related news